About the Surviving Sepsis Campaign

The Surviving Sepsis Campaign is a joint collaboration of the Society of Critical Care Medicine and the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine committed to reducing mortality from severe sepsis and septic shock worldwide.

Initiated in 2002 at the ESICM’s annual meeting with the Barcelona Declaration, the Campaign progressed in phases that have expanded the scope and reach of the Campaign via publication of 3 editions of evidence-based guidelines, implementation of a performance improvement program, and analysis and publication of data from more than 30,000 patient charts collected around the world. 

Now recommitted  to increasing the number of hospitals contributing data to 10,000 worldwide; to applying the guidelines to 100% of patients in whom the diagnosis is suspected; and to developing a strategy to improve the care of septic patients in underresourced areas, the Campaign invites you to show your personal commitment to make a difference by downloading the Surviving Sepsis Declaration and sharing it with the team at your hospital.

The potential to save lives is enormous. Assuming that the reduction in mortality seen to date can be sustained and 10,000 hospitals comply with the Campaign recommendations, we could save 400,000 lives if we treat only half of the eligible patients with the Surviving Sepsis Campaign Bundles.

In 2016, the Executive Committee of the Surviving Sepsis Campaign launched a new research committee. 

The research committee is responsible for outlining research priorities in sepsis care. Research priorities should run the gamut from clinical to translational to basic science. Special attention should be paid to clinically important elements of the SSC guidelines where inadequate information exists to guide recommendations. A scholarly manuscript to be published in Intensive Care Medicine and Critical Care Medicine will occur every four years, one in the year following publication of the SSC guidelines.
The committee is comprised of six appointees from ESICM and six appointees from SCCM. Daniel De Backer, MD, PhD, serves as ESICM’s Co-Chair and Craig Coopersmith, MD, FCCM, serves as SCCM’s Co-Chair. Guidelines Co-Chairs Andrew Rhodes, FRCP, FRCA, FFICM, and Laura Evans, MD, FCCM, will serve as consultants to the committee.